Foil Hat Lady was in for a Z-Pack.
I tell her that she should take the medication with food or milk.
"I don't drink milk," she says, "for religious reasons."
She pays for her meds and pushes her cart away. Another satisfied customer at the Goofmart, I think to myself.
After about 15 minutes, she's back at the register to ask me another question. I see in her grocery cart she has not one, not two, but three cartons of ice cream of various flavors. ICE CREAM, I think to myself, IS A DAIRY PRODUCT that contains MILK.
But I don't say anything. She asks a few questions. I don't recall the conversation nor did I bring up the ice cream, but she did. It was then that she made it very clear that the ice cream is for her.
I resist the urge to ask what religion is ok with milk in ice cream but not drinking milk. Milk is milk, right? But I resist.
So I still don't know what religion it is, exactly, that is ok with eating dairy products in cheese, yogurt, and ice cream, but prohibits the drinking of milk.
All I know is that Foil hat lady will eat ice cream but not drink milk. "For religious reasons."